VWForum.nl

The #1 Online Volkswagen Community

Problemen met de ID3
There are several posts on problems with the charge door in ID's (and other VW's ...). Issues ranging from 'will not open', 'will not close', 'stuck' or otherwise.
Below my experience with replacing the actuator, which was causing the issue in my case.
Disclaimer: I'm not a car mechanic, so below is just for illustration, no warranty, etc. etc. The dealership is your best option!
My ID3 is an early '21 and has by now done some 60k happy km's. Since about a year, the charge door was acting up in various ways. Under warranty, the dealership applied some grease :-), this did improve things temporary. Now out of warranty, and in the colder season, the problem came back big time. I decided to replace the actuator.
These actuators are commonly available from several brands, they cost between 25 and 35 Euro (3rd market), you can obtain it from the dealer as well.
This is the part-number of the actuator I used, there are other ones, I do not know if this is the best alternative, this is not a recommendation.
8421 part number new actuator.jpg
8421 part number new actuator.jpg (1.77 MiB) 955 keer bekeken
The steps to replace are outlined very well in the VW ID3 workshop manual which I used (vw-id3-body-repairs-exterior-eng, sections 3.2 and 3.3). I recommend following those.